Empirical Economics and Applied Econometrics

Empirical Economics and Applied Econometrics

Committee Chairman: Prof. Dr. Ralf Brüggemann (University of Konstanz)
Deputy Chairman: Prof. Dr. Robert Jung (University of Hohenheim)
Election: Herbst 2020

 

Aims and Scope:

The Committee "Empirical Economic Research and Applied Econometrics" covers all topics of econometrics and their applications in economics. The meetings of the Committee focus on both, methodological developments in econometrics and empirical applications, , using state of the art econometric methods. Consequently, the Committee provides an ideal platform for the exchange of methodological econometricians and empirical economists working at universities,, economic research institutes and central banks.

 

Topic selection:

  • Time Series Econometrics and Forecasting includes recent developments in the field of analyzing economic time series. The topics cover both, structural modeling (e.g. structural vector autoregressive models) as well as the forecast.
  • Microeconometrics includes methodological developments for the analysis of individual - and firm level data. In addition to modeling limited dependent variables, the evaluation of causal effects is becoming increasingly important in this area.
  • Panel Data Econometrics includes the econometric analysis of data, with cross-sectional and longitudinal dimension. Panel data methods are often- used in empirical economic, research (e.g. for the analysis of the German socio-economic panel (GSOEP) ..
  • Econometric Theory focuses on the New- and further development of econometric methods from all areas of econometrics. improved estimation- and inference for both cross-sectional, time series- and Panel data are also discussed, as new methods for high-dimensional data sets.
  • Empirical Economics includes applications of modern econometric techniques and empirical work from all areas of economics. This includes in particular the empirical analysis of product- and labor markets as well as of macroeconomic and financial data.
  • Machine Learning in Econometrics attacks recent developments in the field of machine learning and discusses the impact on the econometric analysis of high-dimensional data sets. The focus is on techniques, which are particularly interesting for the economic applications.

 

 

Relation to other Committees: There are thematic intersections with other committees of DStatG. On the methodological side show as starting points to "Statistical Theory and Methods" and "data science". The demarcation to the Committee "Statistics in Finance" is quite fluent, as subjects of Finanzmarktökomometrie often very good fit in both committees.

 

Notice of incorporation:
The establishment of the Committee in 1974.

Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung und Angewandte Ökonometrie

Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung und Angewandte Ökonometrie

Ausschussvorsitzender: Prof. Dr. Ralf Brüggemann (Universität Konstanz)
Stellvertreter: Prof. Dr. Robert Jung (Universität Hohenheim)
Neuwahl: Herbst 2020

 

Aufgaben und Inhalte:

Der Ausschuss „Empirische Wirtschaftsforschung und Angewandte Ökonometrie“ befasst sich mit allen Themenbereichen der Ökonometrie sowie mit ihren Anwendungen in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Die Sitzungen des Ausschusses konzentrieren sich daher sowohl auf methodische Weiterentwicklungen innerhalb der Ökonometrie als auch auf empirische Anwendungen, die modernste ökonometrische Methoden benutzen. Damit bietet der Ausschuss eine ideale Plattform für den Austausch von methodisch arbeitenden Ökonometrikern und empirisch arbeitenden Ökonomen an Universitäten, Wirtschaftsforschungsinstituten und Zentralbanken.

 

Themenauswahl:

  • Time Series Econometrics and Forecasting umfasst neuere Entwicklungen auf dem Gebiet der Analyse ökonomischer Zeitreihen. Die Themen umspannen dabei sowohl die strukturelle Modellierung (z.B. strukturelle vektorautoregressive Modelle) als auch die Prognose.
  • Microeconometrics schließt die Methodenentwicklung für und die Analyse von Individual- und Firmendaten ein. Neben der ökonometrischen Modellierung nicht stetiger abhängiger Entscheidungsvariablen kommt auch die Evaluierung kausaler Effekte von wirtschaftspolitischen Maßnahmen eine immer größer werdende Bedeutung in diesem Bereich zu.
  • Panel Data Econometrics beinhaltet die ökonometrische Analyse Daten, bei denen statistische Einheiten über Zeit hinweg wiederholt beobachtet werden. Da die Daten sowohl eine Querschnitts- als auch eine Zeitdimension haben, werden Panelmethoden oft in der empirischen Wirtschaftsforschung (z.B. zur Analyse des sozio-ökonomischen Panels (GSOEP) benutzt.
  • Econometric Theory fokussiert sich auf die Neu- und Weiterentwicklung ökonometrischer Methodik aus allen Teilbereichen der Ökonometrie. Verbesserte Schätz- und Inferenzverfahren sowohl für Querschnitts-, Zeitreihen- und Paneldaten werden ebenso diskutiert, wie neue Verfahren für hochdimensionale Datensätze.
  • Empirical Economics umfasst Anwendungen moderner ökonometrischer Techniken und empirische Arbeiten aus allen Teilbereichen der Wirtschaftswissenschaften. Das schließt insbesondere die empirische Analyse von Produkt- und Arbeitsmärkten sowie von makroökonomischen und finanzwirtschaftlichen Daten ein.
  • Machine Learning in Econometrics greift neuere Entwicklungen im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens auf und diskutiert die Auswirkungen auf die ökonometrische Analyse hochdimensionaler Datensätze. Der Fokus liegt hier auf Techniken, die insbesondere für die ökonomische Anwendungen interessant sind.

 

 

Abgrenzung: Es gibt thematische Schnittmengen mit anderen Ausschüssen der DStatG. Auf der methodischen Seite zeigen sich etwa Anknüpfungspunkte zu „Statistical Theory and Methods“ sowie „Data Science“. Die Abgrenzung zum Ausschuss „Statistics in Finance“ ist recht fließend, da Themen der Finanzmarktökomometrie oft sehr gut in beide Ausschüsse passen.

 

Gründungshinweis:
Die Gründung des Ausschusses erfolgte 1974.