Members of the Executive Board at the German Statistical Society

The Executive Board plans and coordinates the activities of the Society. It draws up the budget, prepares the General Meetings, and clarifies individual questions of fundamental importance, insofar as they are not reserved for the General Meeting or the entire membership.

The Board of Directors consists of the Chairperson, six other members elected by the entire membership of the Society every four years, and up to two additional members who may be elected by the Board of Directors, as well as the Treasurer and the editors of the Society’s journals. The Treasurer and Editors shall be appointed by the remainder of the Board.

The Chairperson shall conduct the business of the Society and represent it externally. They prepare the board meetings, chair the general meetings, and inform the members continuously by circular letters (newsletter). They are supported in this by an office.

Prof. Dr. Ralf Münnich


Trier University

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schmid


European University Viadrina

Peter Schmidt


Federal Statistical Office

Prof. Dr. Roland Fried

Dortmund University

Prof. Dr. Michael Fürnrohr

Bavarian State Office for Statistics

Bamberg University

Prof. Dr. Göran Kauermann

Ludwig-Maximilians University Munich

Prof. Dr. Ostap Okhrin

Dresden University of Technology

Prof. Dr. Ulrike Rockmann


Katharina Schüller

Prof. Dr. Philipp Otto


Leibniz University Hanover

Prof. Dr. Harry Haupt

Editor of AStA – Advances in Statistical Analysis

Passau University

Prof. Dr. Yarema Okhrin

Editor of AStA – Advances in Statistical Analysis

Augsburg University

Prof. Dr. Timo Schmid

Publisher of AStA – Wirtschafts- und Sozialstatistisches Archiv

Otto-Friedrich University Bamberg

Prof. Dr. Markus Zwick

Editor of AStA – Wirtschafts- und Sozialstatistisches Archiv

Federal Statistical Office

The extended Executive Board includes the committee chairpersons.